Book Updates # 3

Hey Bookoholic’s! It’s about that time again. Are you ready for the next book updates? If you are, well you’re in luck because here it is!

So, I’m just going to do us all a favor and dive right into the thing that’s probably been on most of our minds recently. How many of us have gone and seen the new IT movie? If you have, well, lucky you! I’m extremely jealous. I haven’t had a chance to see it yet, but I’m extremely excited to.

It movie
IT 2017 Movie Poster

IT has been a long time favorite movie and book of mine. I’m not much on horror, but the book is great and the original movie was amazing. I absolutely loved IT. That movie is the reason why I’m still mildly creeped out by drains, who else is with me on that? No one? Okay, I see how it is.

Anyway, some of you may have heard that Stephen King made an appearance in Bangor, ME for the premier of the re-created movie. If some of you Bookoholic’s were lucky enough to be there for that leave a comment and tweet me a photo you may have gotten while at the premier. I’d love to see them and hear from you!

Along side this fantastic pop up at the premier of his re-created movie, Stephen King also left a little something for his fans that come to visit his house in Bangor. That would be the infamous red balloon that makes numerous appearances within the actual movie. That’s right folks, it seems Pennywise has visited our famous author. If you’re anywhere around Maine and at all close enough, I would highly suggest dropping by and visiting to see if the balloon is still there!

It
My Photo from visiting the King’s House

Alright, on to the next topic then! What’s going to be hitting the shelves of our favorite book stores in the coming months? I’m glad you asked! We actually have quite a mixture of things coming out soon, many of which sound very interesting.

First up on our discussions today is the much acclaimed and loved series by Rick Yancey, The Fifth Wave. Now, some of you may be wondering why I’m bringing this series up. It’s already out, there’s already been a movie adaption of the first book, it’s starting to become old news. Well, “Hold your horses.” I say.

Coming to us in the beginning of October is none other than The Fifth Wave Collection which is a box set of the entire trilogy! If some of you haven’t read the series and you want to, but you’re like me and want to just keep reading once you hit that last page in the first book, then I highly suggest going out and getting this pretty little box set. The books are a great choice of a reading binge, they’ll hold your attention with every word. If you’re also a die hard fan of the series, this box set may also interest you. If you’re at all like me with your possessive quality of books and just have to own everything your favorite writer comes out with, well, I suggest you get ready to make a trip to your local book store.

The Fifth Wave Collection
The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

The box set comes out on October 3, 2017 and it looks fantastic! Generally, it’s common knowledge not to judge a book by it’s cover. It’s pretty difficult to follow this rule. I admit, there have been many a time that I have looked at a book’s cover and just lost interest in the book completely. I know I’m not the only one either so don’t try to hide that you have. It’s nothing to be ashamed of…much.

Anyway, the box set looks beautiful and really well made so, if you’ve been looking for a new series to binge and have yet to pick up The Fifth Wave here’s your chance, Bookoholic’s! If you’re interested in pre-ordering the collection I’ll leave a link in the caption.

The second book up for discussion is one that’ll be hitting the shelves in only a few days. Four, to be exact. Murder, Magic, and What We Wore. Now, I don’t know about you guys, but that title drew me in the instant I read it. I mean, murder and magic, that’s one thing. It’s probably in most books these days, but what we wore? That’s something that’s not generally brought up with the other two topics. I’m intrigued and I hope you are too!

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore
Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones

The book was written by one Kelly Jones who is actually on tour right now. Isn’t that exciting! The book is a Young Adult Historical Fiction. Now, a historical fiction novel is one that doesn’t generally cross my path so, when I find one I get interested in it pretty quickly because I absolutely love history!

The novel takes place in London, the year is 1818. Our lovely heroine? Well, her name is Annis Whitworth. It’s the first I’ve ever followed a character with that name, how about you? After her father’s untimely death and the fact that all of his money is now missing, Annis decides to become none other than a spy because, I mean, come on, what else do you do when your father dies and all his money just up and vanishes?

If you’re interested in this book as much as I am, check it out and pre-order it! There’s only a few days left until it comes to book stores near you.

The last book up for discussion today is also one that will be gracing our book stores in only four days time. The Lives of Desperate Girls is a debut novel by a new an upcoming author, MacKenzie Common. The novel is a Teen and Young Adult Fiction that takes place

The Lives of Desperate Girls
The Lives of Desperate Girls by MacKenzie Common

in Thunder Creek, Ontario. We follow a girl by the name Jenny who is out to discover what’s happened to her best friend Chloe who is currently missing. With one girl dead and another missing Jenny is out for answers in this suspenseful and thrilling novel.

I’m pretty excited for this one because it’s said this is the book for fans of All the Bright Places and I absolutely loved that novel.

The book is 304 pages in length, so it’s a pretty good size and read for a first time novel. If you’re interested in checking the book out and supporting the new author check out the link in the caption!

Well, that’s about it for this Book Updates Bookoholic’s! I hope you enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed researching. Look forward to the next post and keep on reading! Until next time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: